Dr Anjali Parti

Brief Bio/Introduction/About you:
Anjali K. Parti, OTD, OTR/L is the Program Director at Polk State College and Instructor at Remington College’s Occupational Therapy Assistant Program. Dr. Parti has been in the administrative academic role for nearly three years and is currently practicing PRN for a home care agency to keep current with the clinical world for fieldwork advancement. Prior to entering the world of academics, Dr. Parti practiced as a pediatric clinician at ‘top 3’ children’s hospital in Cincinnati and most recently as a Rehab Director for Assistive Living Facilities and continue PRN work outside of full time work to diversify herself in Florida in various settings as a new therapist. Dr. Parti has been an active member of the Florida Occupational Therapy Educational Consortium (FLOTEC) as well as FOTA and AOTA presenting alongside Program Dean, Dr. Hubbard. Dr. Parti’s areas of interest are the role of OT in breastfeeding and coping strategies during the post-partum period. Dr. Parti strives to mold her students into professional, scholarly, and good representatives of our wonderful profession. Dr. Parti is married with two young children, and resides in Orlando, FL.

What’s your current profession?
Occupational Therapist, currently in academics in program administration.

Do you have a website?
www.polk.edu

What are your top 3 achievements?
1) having healthy children and a stable and loving family 2) Getting accepted to and presenting at our national conference with a topic that is not well researched or discussed: Post-partum depression in new mothers and how OT can have a role in decreasing stress 3) achieving my first job at a top childrens hospital/ getting my degree before the age of 25

Educational background:

What are your favorite platforms or which charitable organizations you admire most?
I like social media and professional platforms online and face to face. I admire small and local charitable organizations (homeless shelters, organizations providing coaching to battered women and children) as well as clubhouses for individuals with psychiatric conditions who are trying to achieve independent living skills.

What’s your dream job?
Assisting with Occupational Therapy being recognized as a mental health provider in the state of Florida in women’s health post-partum, opening a home- care business for women where OT/OTA can provide services to women post release from the hospital- essentially linking women’s health, mental health, and post-partum period strengthening as a combined service. I would love to do this as well as continue my contribution to the OT profession in academics.

Who is your favorite role model?
My parents for immigrating from India and creating a quality life for themselves and their children. They never complained and made hard work look easy. They provided doctorate level educations for my sister and myself and prioritized our needs over theirs. I would also say my husband for being a self-made man and for being an overall great person. Based on the day, today is a good day to ask this question 😉

Ten years from now where do you see yourself?
As a mother of two teenagers (gasp) and at a very good place in my career and family.

How do you maintain work and life balance?
I try not to check my emails during family time or at home, I try to not let work consume my mind and realize a good balance of both is the key to longevity and quality in all roles.

Fun stuff:

Favorite Book (s):
How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie

Favorite Musician (s):
Red Hot Chilli Peppers

Favorite Movie (s):
Sister Act II

Favorite Actor (s):
Will Smith in the Pursuit of Happiness

Favorite Sport (s):
Tennis or volleyball although I never get time to play, hope to be a Zumba instructor next year.

Favorite Athlete (s):
Serena Williams

Favorite TV Show (s):
When I have time- Grey’s Anatomy, Mindy Project, Lost

Favorite Place (s):
Alone or with children? Alone or with friends- Park Ave. Winter Park, the dance floor, St. Augustine downtown, parasailing in the Bahamas. Children—visiting grandparents, theme parks, chuckee cheese, and parks.

Favorite Website (s):
www.amazon.com

Favorite Restaurant (s):
Urbain 40, Ruby Tuesday, Bento sushi

Do you have any pets?
A yorkie named Simba

Post navigation