Devi Chakrabarti

Brief Introduction: I am a student from Kolkata, India. I completed my M.Phil in 2018 and will be pursuing a PhD in Anthropology from the University of Cambridge later this year. I am an avid photographer and have always been deeply passionate about travelling and hiking.


What’s your current profession? I am a research scholar, and am professionally motivated towards a career in academics that should involve teaching and research.

What are your top 3 achievements? It is very difficult for me to categorise events in my life as achievements, but I would say getting through the university of my choice with a full scholarship is certainly an important milestone for me.

Education: I completed by Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Sociology from Presidency University, Kolkata, (2011-2016) following which I pursued an M.Phil in Social Sciences from the Centre for Studies in Social Sciences, Kolkata (2016-2018).


What’s your dream job? I have always wanted to be a wildlife photographer!


Who is your favorite role model? I do not believe in the idea of having role models, because there is genuinely so much to learn from people you meet over time and across circumstances. But I am particularly drawn towards people who are sensitive to the world around them and anyone with an inspiring mind.


Ten years from now where do you see yourself? In ten years, I see myself pursuing a full time career in academics and making contributions to fields of learning that I am passionate about. I am also positively inclined towards curation, environment and heritage conservation, and I hope I can explore these domains of interest sometime in the future.

Fun stuff:

Favorite Book (s): By virtue of my educational and professional choices, I read a lot of scholarly, non-fiction literature. But I grew up reading Satyajit Ray, Agatha Christie, Hemmingway and the Harry Potter series, and these have to be my favorite because they cultivated the habit of reading in me.
Favorite Musician (s): The Beatles, Sting, Pink Floyd, Eric Clapton, Santana are a few among many others. I currently also love Ramin Djawidi and Amit Trivedi.
Favorite Movie (s): I do not have a favorite movie, but I can rewatch the Harry Potter series a hundred times over.
Favorite Actor (s): Ranbir Kapoor and Benedict Cumberbatch.
Favorite Sport (s): Swimming
Favorite TV Show (s): Game of Thrones, Stranger Things.
Favorite Place (s): Anywhere with a view of the mountains, especially the Himalayas.
Favorite Restaurant (s): Any restaurant that sells really good Biryani.
Do you have any pets? Not at the moment, but I would love to shelter a dog.

Post navigation